HomeNation NewsCWG 2022, Athletics: Murali Sreeshankar wins silver medal in men’s long leap,...

CWG 2022, Athletics: Murali Sreeshankar wins silver medal in men’s long leap, Yahiya comes 5th

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Murali Sreeshankar turned into the second one Indian in athletics to medal on the Commonwealth Video games 2022, successful silver in the men’s long leap tournament past due on Thursday night time in Birmingham.

The 23-year-old then again, jumped the very same distance because the eventual gold medal winner, however completed in moment on account of a shorter second-best leap.

CWG 2022, Day 7 blog

Sreeshankar jumped a distance of 8.08 metres on his 5th strive, the similar distance gold medal winner Laquan Nairn from Bahamas lined in his moment strive. However since there was once a tie, Narin pipped the Indian since his second-best leap – on his 6th strive – was once 7.98m and Sreeshankar’s moment splendid was once 7.84.

South Africa’s Jovan van Vuuren got here in 3rd with a leap of 8.06m.

In the meantime, Muhammed Anees Yahiya, the opposite Indian in the fray, completed 5th after a leap of seven.97m.

Sreeshankar’s medal was once the joint-best by way of an Indian in the historical past of the Commonwealth Video games after Prajusha Maliakkal gained silver at New Delhi 2010 in the ladies’s tournament. Suresh Babu at Edmonton 1978 and Anju Bobby George at Manchester 2002 gained bronze.

On Thursday, Sreeshankar’s medal was once the second one athletics accolade for India in as many days after prime jumper Tejaswin Shankar turned into the first ever Indian in the discipline to win a medal – bronze – on the Commonwealth Video games.

Long leap ultimate standings

Rank Nation Identify Wind Outcome
1 BAH Laquan NAIRN -0.1 8.08
2 IND Sreeshankar SREESHANKAR +1.5 8.08
3  RSA Jovan van VUUREN +1.8 8.06
4  JAM Shawn-D THOMPSON +1.8 8.05
5  IND Muhammed Anees YAHIYA +1.0 7.97
6  AUS Henry FRAYNE +1.2 7.94
7  DMA Tristan JAMES +1.9 7.85
8 TCA Ifeanyichukwu OTUONYE +0.8 7.80
9 AUS Christopher MITREVSKI +1.5 7.70
10 TTO Andwuelle WRIGHT +2.1 7.57
11 GUY Emanuel ARCHIBALD -0.3 7.54
12 BOT Thapelo MONAIWA -1.0 7.37
Respectable CWG2022 Web site

original post link

- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments