HomeSportsShikhar Dhawan to lead India in away ODI series against West Indies;...

Shikhar Dhawan to lead India in away ODI series against West Indies; Rohit, Kohli among those rested | Cricket News – Times of India

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

NEW DELHI: Shikhar Dhawan was once on Wednesday named India captain for the 3 ODIs against the West Indies in the absence of common skipper Rohit Sharma, whilst Virat Kohli and Rishabh Pant have been among those who’ve been rested for the series starting on July 22 in Port of Spain, Trinidad.
Two different senior gamers, Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammad Shami have additionally been rested. Hardik Pandya, who not too long ago made his India comeback Subsequent a a success IPL, may be now not a component of the aspect.
Deepak Hooda, Sanju Samson, Ruturaj Gaikwad and Avesh Khan, who aren’t section of the ODI squad for the series in England starting July 12, were incorporated in the 16-member workforce for the West Indies excursion.

Shubman Gill, who ultimate performed an ODI in December 2020, has additionally were given the selectors’ nod.
Ravindra Jadeja has been named Dhawan’s deputy for the series.

Dhawan, who simplest performs ODI, had first captained the aspect right through the excursion of Sri Lanka ultimate yr when the Check experts have been in England.
There was grievance from some quarters in regards to the appointment of too many captains of the Indian workforce during the last three hundred and sixty five days with Bumrah, Pant, Rahul, Hardik, Dhawan main the aspect due to scheduling and harm problems, and as section of workload control.
All of the 3 video games shall be performed in Port of Spain.
The video games in the West Indies are the one ODIs India will play ahead of the T20 International Cup in Australia and subsequently, senior gamers being rested does not come Deficiently as a wonder.
After the ODIs, India will play 5 T20Is against the West Indies in the Caribbean and the US, the squad for which is but to be introduced.
Taking into account each T20I sport is essential ahead of the International Cup in Australia, the senior gamers are most probably to go back for the 5-fit series to be performed from July 29 to August 7. The T20I suits shall be performed in Trinidad, St Kitts and Lauderhill in Florida.
The Squad: Shikhar Dhawan (captain), Ravindra Jadeja (vice-captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Deepak Hooda, Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Ishan Kishan (wk), Sanju Samson (wk), Shardul Thakur, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Avesh Khan, Prasidh Krishna, Mohd Siraj, Arshdeep Singh.

Source link

- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments